I Quit


dontsmoke

“I quit smoking.”  — Me

I’ve done it!

I’ve considered myself to be a smoker since the age of twelve.  My cousin Randy and I would sneak cigarettes from our parents and smoke them as we walked to school each morning.  Back then, cigarettes cost no more that seventy-five cents from the vending machine at the local bowling alley.

By the time I was fourteen years-old, my parents had grown tired of trying to stop me from smoking and allowed me to smoke openly.  My mother would even buy cigarettes for me when she went to the grocery store.  I smoked and smoked and smoked.

There have been occasions in my life when I have been able to quit; usually because of illness of some sort (usually upper respiratory since I am asthmatic) or because of a new commitment to overall health.  It has been nearly 2 months since my last cigarette.  This time my reasons do include health concerns, mortality and cost.  The price one pays for cigarettes now, with all of the various taxes, has become prohibitive.

My home smells better, my senses already seem more aware to smell and taste.  Soon, I know I will also be able to claim better health and longer life.

 

About Mark Schmitz

Living in Phoenix, AZ since 1995, originally from Brown Deer, Wisconsin. I'm a Gemini born on May 26, 1961. Single, GWM who is HIV and healthy. Spiritually diverse, I'm just trying to stay on the right path to learn all that I came here to learn. That's what my blogs are about - and total honesty.

Posted on April 9, 2011, in About Me, Addiction, Health, Life, Mental Health, Opinions, Personal Growth, Self Will, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Commending you, Chris, for the good decision to quit smoking! I hope a lot of people out there who are still in the habit can find the motivation to start a new healthy lifestyle. Reading this would sure be a good start. Do feel good that you’ve helped others and inspired them that things are possible, such as quitting smoking. Here’s a cheer to the new you!

Leave a Reply

