How to Get to Forgiveness


One is, as One is.


“One is as one is, and the love that can’t encompass both is a poor sort of love.”  — Marya Mannes

I have struggled to find the way to forgive myself and others.  Forgiving isn’t easy.  Writing this blog isn’t easy.  I am carrying so much resentment and hurt around with me.  In fact, when I’ve been deeply hurt or victimized by someone else, I may feel I can’t forgive. Yet, for my peace of mind and to let go, I may finally try.  It’s been suggested by a close friend that forgiveness is easier under certain conditions: a positive connection with the person we want to forgive, a deep relationship with the Universe, and lots of time.

Forgiveness is often preceded by grieving fully; we must first heal from the harm that was done to us. Through the honesty, power and wisdom gained through personal growth we are gently led through the process of forgiving ourselves and others. Many of us have also experienced the Universe’s unconditional forgiveness which gives us a model.  I acknowledge my responsibility for my actions, I let go of resentment, I grieve, and, finally, I forgive.

Related Articles

About Mark Schmitz

Living in Phoenix, AZ since 1995, originally from Brown Deer, Wisconsin. I'm a Gemini born on May 26, 1961. Single, GWM who is HIV and healthy. Spiritually diverse, I'm just trying to stay on the right path to learn all that I came here to learn. That's what my blogs are about - and total honesty.

Posted on January 1, 2011, in Adversity, Awareness, Boundaries, Challenge, Conflict, Depression, Depression, forgiveness, How to overcome Depression, Humanity, Hurt emotions, Inner Self, Intimacy, Life, Life's Lessons, Love, Mental Health, Opinions, Past Transgressions, Personal Growth, Positive Thinking, Relationships, Resentment, Self-forgiveness, Self-improvement, Shortcomings, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Linda K Alvarado

    Deep resentments make me miserable, so I consciously work towards forgiveness, even though I do have to wrestle around with it for awhile before I finally let go. It is easier for me to forgive when the offender apologizes, but that doesn’t happen in many cases. Frankly, in many cases the offender doesn’t even know he or she has offended. So many of us just trample through life not thinking of how our actions affects others.

    I read a book called The Spirituality of Imperfection that speaks to forgiveness in one of its chapters. It helped me a lot to understand that forgiveness (whether it is I who needs to do the forgiving or I who needs to be forgiven) is a gift that cannot be forced, but is graced upon us when we stay in the drop zone. The drop zone is where I see you, Mark. You stay in a zone of constant self-examination and willingness to change for the better.

  1. Pingback: Acknowledgement « Sanjay’s Blog

  2. Pingback: Forgive, release negativity « … do the eco.nomics

  3. Pingback: The Beauty Of Forgiveness « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

