Get Rid of Fear and Anxiety – Be O.K. with YOU


“Perhaps the most important thing we can undertake toward the reduction of fear is to make it easier for people to accept themselves; to like themselves.”  — Bonaro Overstreet

I was going about my life when suddenly; I became aware that I was feeling anxious, uncomfortable and insecure.  But what I feel underneath is afraid.  Even when we’re not conscious of it, fear can drain our concentration, deplete our confidence and manifest behaviors that aren’t typical of us.

Everyone feels afraid; it’s a part, even an affirmation of being human.  Fear can be a healthy, energizing response in some situations – such as when we take a risk or strike out in a new direction.

When we’re fearful, it can be reassuring to remember that, in the end, success or failure isn’t what’s important.  If, in any situation, we do the best we can and learn from our experiences, then we’ve nothing to fear.  Still, when we’re feeling fear, it’s important to know that the people who love us will go on loving us.  Sometimes, we may just need to hear someone say, “I know you can do it; I have faith in you.”  Then, fearful or not, we move forward, our fear balanced by faith and our willingness to try.


About Mark Schmitz

Living in Phoenix, AZ since 1995, originally from Brown Deer, Wisconsin. I'm a Gemini born on May 26, 1961. Single, GWM who is HIV and healthy. Spiritually diverse, I'm just trying to stay on the right path to learn all that I came here to learn. That's what my blogs are about - and total honesty.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Addiction, Boundaries, Change, Depression, Family, Fear, Friends, Friendship, Honesty, Hope, Humanity, Intimacy, Life, Life's Lessons, Love, Opinions, Personal Growth, Positive Thinking, Relationships, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey Mark…. I was a shrink yesterday. First one in a long time. Was finally tired of the residual anxiety and depression that has been showing up more often than I am comfortable with lately.

    I am glad to say that unlike my last shrink, he did not immediately reach for the prescription pad. Last guy loaded me up with clonazapam and I shortly thereafter went back out on a coke bender.

    Meds may be part of my future, but I would prefer to involve them in a wise way with respect to my underlying tendancies toward addiction and alcohol use.

    Today I hurt but writing about it helps. Unlike other days in the past, I do not feel immobilized like I once did so many times.

    There is hope for our type Mark. Meaning those of us with emotional challenges and addiction issues. Things do get better. Perhaps it is just a matter of us continuing to search to find what works for us.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    • I know the factors which contribute to my anxiety and depression. I know the triggers and have shared them with my partner;giving him an opportunity to change his behavior. That change never seems to happen and I get into this sick, vicious cycle.I’ve been blogging about the healthier ways to get better. I’ve made a commitment to important people in my life to get back involved in therapy (promised to call by this Friday and have an intake appointment set up for the next available). I know the ativan is only a crutch, but it has gotten me through the past two days in a better way than without it.

      I take your feedback seriously, welcome it and appreciate. Thank you. Mark

  2. Hey Chris…. I can totally relate.

    I dragged anxiety around most of my life. I am still in a process of becoming more and more free of it.

    I heard someone say one time “I had mild anxiety laying just below the surface all my life”. When I heard this, I completely connected with how that described me. This described that feeling of mild pain and discontentment that kept me edgy, dissatisfied and agitated most of my life.

    What is it simply is is fear. Fear of some negative that MAY unfold. My sponsor refers to it as “awfulizing”. Meaning projecting negative outcomes to pretty much everything.

    It put me in the psych ward a couple times.

    Anyway… spotted your post and just wanted to say I can relate. And gladly that I have found ways to gain some reprieve. Life gets better.

    Ciao. Chaz

    • Well me and this little pill called ativan are becoming well acquainted recently. My anxiety which leads to severe depression seems to be the result of post traumatic stress. Something back in October, 2007. I’ve blogged about it: domestic violence. Thanks for your comment. Good luck to you on your journey. Mark

Leave a Reply

