Feeling is the Inner Life


Expression is the Outer Life

I’ve realized that there’s a difference between my ability to feel, my ability to express my feelings, and my ability to let go.  I know there are many painful emotions I learned to suppress when I was young, particularly anger or sadness.  Other emotions might be difficult to feel because they are connected to past pain.

Yet there’s no letting go, no moving on, until I stop trying to avoid feelings such as sorrow, anger, rage or despair.  I have found the way to begin working through difficult feelings is to reach out to people with a phone call, email, or blog comment.  Other ways I have found to help are writing (blogging or journaling); having a good cry, or plan a healing ritual which can be as simple as taking a couple of days alone, just to think.  For some of us, turning to our Higher Power, as we know it provides the spiritual help and nourishment we need.

The release that will come as a result of expressing our feelings will help to ease the pain.  It’s not realistic to release all the pain from our past all at once, but we can begin by letting go of a little piece today.

About Mark Schmitz

Living in Phoenix, AZ since 1995, originally from Brown Deer, Wisconsin. I'm a Gemini born on May 26, 1961. Single, GWM who is HIV and healthy. Spiritually diverse, I'm just trying to stay on the right path to learn all that I came here to learn. That's what my blogs are about - and total honesty.

Posted on November 23, 2010, in Adversity, Blogging, Challenge, feelings, Inner Self, Intimacy, Life, Love, New Age, Opinions, Personal Growth, Relationships, Self Discovery, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve come to know that for many of us, perhaps when we were children, or at any time in life, we were betrayed. Maybe an adult should have stood up for us, or the community (I like to refer to it as our “village”) wasn’t there for us when they should have been. Over time, and left unresolved, this can contribute to that sad, forgotten ability to express ourselves freely, openly. Thank you so much for your comment. — Mark

  2. “I’ve realized that there’s a difference between my ability to feel, my ability to express my feelings, and my ability to let go.”
    Very powerful. And i think one of the saddest things is all of the emotions we suppress, especially when how to express them becomes forgotten.

Leave a Reply

